Review: Below Deck Rum (Coffee)

Below Deck Coffee

One of the best of the local distilleries is Eastside Distilling.  Not only do I love their location, but they appear to be infinitely creative. They are willing to experiment with the kind of liqueurs that are both pleasing, and potent.

See my review of Burnside Bourbon for some of their other fantastic potables.

Today, we take a look at one of the their three (Yes I said three) varieties of rum.  In addition to a wonderful silver, they also bottle a Ginger and a Coffee rum.  Since I think I’ve done enough things with ginger in them lately, I wanted to show you the coffee instead.

Now, there are a couple of ways to get flavor into alcohol.  You can put extracts into the still during distillation so that the flavor compounds wind up in the vapor.  This is pretty standard for any clear, flavored vodkas.  Your bacardi limon, stoli blueberry and 360 cherry all use this format to one extent or another.  Another way to get flavor is to add extracts to the product after distilling, I’m pretty sure that is what happens here.  This is a cold pressed coffee extract being added to a rum base, which results in a very strong, very dark and flavorful product.

If you squint you can see the essential oils floating in the shine of the liquor.  I’m not a coffee lover, but this is what I prefer to most other coffee liqueurs.   Living in the NW there are no shortage of coffee liqueurs.  House Spirits, New Deal, Eastside and even Stone Barn Brandyworks each make one and those are just the ones I know of right now.  The presence of so many good roasters in the area means no lack of good beans to put into the mix.

I think if anything I have to say that the coffee flavor bothers me more than the alcohol flavor.  It mixes very well with chocolate, creams, and you can spice it up with a hit of bitters or even a dash of something like an Amaro.  You get a much more noticeable bitterness which can play nicely with the right kinds of notes in any other cocktail.

Leave a Reply

