Blood Opal

blood opal

An Opal Cocktail is a fairly basic drink

1.5 oz Gin
0.5 oz Triple Sec
1 oz Orange Juice
2 dashes orange bitters

A bit more complex than a screwdriver and with a nice sipping quality for earlier in the day.

My own variation comes out of a desire to play with the new Dry Sodas I found at the grocery store.

The opening portion of this is the same we simply replace the orange juice with one of their Dry Blood Orange sodas and garnish with a lemon wheel.

I liked the opening smells on this.  The orange from the cointreau and the drink are both there and the lemon gives a bit more sweetness.

I think on reflection I used too much soda.  The dry sodas are only lightly sweet being much more in the realm of a flavored sparkling water than a soda.  The lack means that they soak pretty much every other flavor out much like club soda would.  I filled the glass there but I think 2-3 oz would be more than enough to get this where you want it.

I reworked it again to try some other things.  I started by muddling the lemon in the glass with the bitters, then shake the cointreau which I upped to a full ounce with the gin and add to the glass, add soda and then stir a bit.

Much better with more lemon in it but the soda is still a flatline compared to something like campari.

Leave a Reply

